Camper Life 4 Ever…. Well Let Hope It’s Not

Standard

I had been in Alaska for a little over two weeks. We were staying in his fathers apartment because he was out-of-town. It was small but had bathrooms and a kitchen and internet. You know the basics. Anyways his dad came back from vacation and we both realized that there is no way three people could live in that space, even though his father was all about it. We looked for places, but no one wanted to do a month to month with only two months and all the places that were available were way over $1000. We are trying to save to live in New Zealand come two months, why would we spend that type of money.

Well we had another option given to us. His bosses girlfriend offered us their camper. Yes we are living out of a camper that is on the side of his mom’s house. It is super small but has a bed. However it is not winterized, and so we have no water. His mom has been nice enough to have the house open to us for showers and bathroom needs. It’s cold, very cold, but we have a little heater that works fine when we are both in bed. As soon as he leaves for ork at 6 AM though, I swear it gets 10 degrees colder in there. He feels the cold more than I do which is odd, but he says that we need to find a new space before October and it gets bellow zero.

I tried yesterday to put some of our stuff “away” or at least out-of-the-way to make it look nicer. I think that the more space I can give the appearance of the more he will be ok. Don’t get me wrong, I would love a place with heating and toilets, but as I told him, as long as we are safe and together that is all that matters. I know sappy but it is the truth. Plus I look at this as testing how things could be in New Zealand. We talked about getting a truck to travel and camp in most of the time, so this is kind of like that.

On the other hand, even though I am super happy about traveling there is still the part of me that can’t wait till we come back and possibly settle down someplace. Maybe we will be back in Alaska and he’ll be doing his construction job and I’ll get a real summer job, maybe we will be in Fl and I’ll be teaching theater again and he will get a diving job. Either way I know two things. One I want an apartment and two I don’t want to do long distance ever again.

That is another thing that has been getting me through this. As much as not working, being cold, not knowing anyone, and being away from family sucks balls, I don’t ever have to worry about any of the stupid long distance stuff. Not have to worry if they are giving up hope, or put in an awkward situation. No longer having to make sure they don’t think the same thing about you. No more pain of missing them and no more seeing them only through pics and Skype. I have the real person right in front of me. He comes home to me every night and we wake up together in the morning and it’s not just via phone or text. It’s all worth it, yeah it’s sappy and mushy and what not, but I have no regrets cause it feels right in my heart.

 

Leave a comment