Climbing The Mountian part 2

Standard

Day two of our trip. We woke up around 8 and it was sooooo cold. We both checked what the weather would be like the day before, mine said sunny his said rainy. Oddly we were both wrong. After about an hour of us trying to get out of the bed of the truck, cause it was warmer, we got ready and dressed for the hike. We had our left overs for breakfast and he made me some coffee, such a good man. Anyways let’s get to the interesting part.

In the park you could drive 15 miles in with out the tour bus. Anything farther you had to buy a shuttle ticket. We figured since we wanted to leave when ever we wanted to that we would just drive in as far as we could and make the best of it. I highly recommend when driving through any mountains to listen to the Skyrim soundtrack. It is the perfect listening to natures awesomely beautiful areas. Plus it really makes you want to grab a sword and climb some shit.

I was told that it wouldn’t be as intense of a hike as the last one so I wore semi warm clothing, leggings with jean shorts, high socks a shirt and two jackets. We parked the car and as I was getting out I noticed what I thought was rain at first , but then thought, “No this looks more like ash but I can’t find it once it hits the car.” I even asked Mr. GC, who assured me it was probably rain and not ash. About 10 minute in we both realized what it was. IT WAS SNOW!!!! I actually got to see snow fall start while climbing a mountain! IN SEPTEMBER! This was amazing. It was very light though.

We started the climb of the Savage trail and my lungs got really unhappy with me really fast. I need to work on my elevation walking because I had to stop so many times and even after stopping it felt like a giant had his hands wrapped tightly around my rib cage. I even had a moment of almost panic attack and MR. GC said we could go back, but I am very stubborn so I said no way. The snow was still coming down slightly and it was very steep. At one point my ears started getting cold and he put one of his scarves babushka style on me. I looked like my great grandma. He thought this was the best thing ever.

Finally we made it to the top and it was time to follow the ridge. As soon as we turn the corner of the mountain we got hit with tremendous winds and tones of snow. The mountain was holding back most of what was going on. It stung a lot and I put on sun glasses to see, which MR. GC thought was even funnier. Yes I had quite the outfit on. We had probably hiked about 2- 2.5 miles by this point and we found some shelter in a rock when I asked him where the end came out. He stated he thought it was a loop but when I said the sign didn’t say so he suggested we head back because he thought we were going on a 4 mile and not an 8.

The hike down was so much easier and went by quick and on arrival back to the bottom we thought maybe we would walk along the stream for a little. The snow was no longer snow at this point and was just rain but he let me use a rain jacket. Boy did we get soaked. It was cold and rainy and that is a combo that he does not like. I reminded me of Florida winter, so I was fine but he was miserable. We did not hike next to the wild river long. We did have fully soaked clothing on though. I changed, he didn’t and we started back home after we stopped to take a quick nap.

The snow was coming down a lot and a lot of the higher area trees were starting to get covered. and the lower we got the more it turned into rain and fog. You couldn’t see much on the way back but it was eerie and still beautiful. We listened to mix tapes and joked around a lot. stopped and had burgers and made it home in time to put on some dry clothing and watch the Abyss.

Even though I didn’t get to see any wild life, the fact that I got to see snow for the first time on a mountain was kind of epic. Plus I enjoy getting to do new things with Mr. GC. It’s nice having some one there so I can look back on later with and reminisce.

 

Leave a comment